St. Ambrose R.C. Primary School

Loving minds {{heart}} hearts {{heart}} hands.



St Ambrose – Link Governor Roles and Committee

Membership 2017-2018


Name of Governor Governance Role Term of Office             Expiry Date
Mrs Margaret Cunningham  Chair of Governors 02/12/16                                02/12/19
Mrs Ruth Vayro Head teacher 29/03/16                               29/03/19  
Mrs Gabrielle Higham LA Governor 28/04/17                               28/04/20 
Mr Francis O'Connor Foundation Governor 31/08/16                                31/08/19
Mr John Connor  Foundation Governor  27/04/17                                27/04/20
Ms Claire Wallace Foundation Governor 28/03/17                                28/03/20
Mrs Helen Murphy  Staff Governor 01/07/17                                 01/07/20 
Mr Laighton Walters Parent Governor 23/09/16                                23/09/19 
Ms Tiffany Cooper-Jones Parent Governor 22/04/17                                22/04/20


Please click on the link below for details of the Instrument of Government. 

Instrument of Government

Link Governor Roles - subjects

RE – Election in process

English – Election in process

Mathematics – Election in process

Science – Gabrielle Higham

Physical Education (PE) – TBC

IT – Election in process

Design Technology, Art and Music – Francis O’Connor 

History and Geography -  Election in process



Link Governor Roles – areas of responsibility

Safeguarding – Margaret Cunningham

Assessments – Election in process

Prevent – Margaret Cunningham

PPG – Election in process

Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) –Margaret Cunningham

Modern Foreign languages (MFL) – Gabrielle Higham

Eco Schools – Laighton Walters

Premises – Election in process in association with the site supervisor.


Link Governor Roles – year groups

Nursery – Election in process

Reception – Election in process

Year 1 – Election in process

Year 2 – Laighton Walters

Year 3 – Election in process

Year 4 – Gabrielle Higham

Year 5 – Election in process

Year 6 – Francis O’Connor


FR&S Committee:

Gabrielle Higham, Helen Murphy, Ruth Vayro and Laighton Walters


Curriculum and Attendance Committee:

Ruth Vayro, Francis O’Connor and Helen Murphy.


Headteacher’s Performance Management Review Panel

Gabrielle Higham and Margaret Cunningham.


Pay Committee:

Margaret Cunningham, Gabrielle Higham.


Ad hoc:

Governors agreed that any additional committees or panels that need to be established would be constituted on an ‘ad hoc’ basis, with membership determined by availability and eligibility.